Many Shades of Black

“Written in ink, in German, in a small, hopelessly sincere handwriting, were the words “Dear God, life is hell.” Nothing led up to or away from it. Alone on the page, and in the sickly stillness of the room, the words appeared to have the stature of an uncontestable, even classic indictment. X stared at the page for several minutes, trying, against heavy odds, not to be taken in. Then, with far more zeal than he had done anything in weeks, he picked up a pencil stub and wrote down under the inscription, in English, “Fathers and teachers, I ponder, ‘What is Hell?’ I maintain that it is the suffering of being unable to love.””

(From Nine Stories)

So JD Salinger passed away yesterday at the age of 91; now I have an intense yearning to reread his works. It’s been ten years since I’ve read Catcher in the Rye, I would like to see how I feel about it now. My one major concern with this news is that I hope and pray to the gods that they do NOT make a freakin movie out of Catcher. I’m sure they will cast Robert Pattinson as Holden, and it will just be really, really awful. Although there is also a lot of buzz around the interwebs that because of his death they may be releasing some unpublished works, but I’m not really concerned with that. Let us just take the time to remember and reflect on one of the great literary minds of this era.

So update on my post yesterday, I realized that when I was at DSW I picked up a gift for a co-worker so really I only spent $50 on myself and didn’t blow the budget then, but Betsey Johnson definitely killed. So for this year so far I have spent $80. I also tried very hard yesterday too break my new bad habit, as soon as I got home I made myself a cup of coffee so I wouldn’t fall straight to sleep, put on some music, and tried to do a bit of cleaning. I did give in and take a few breaks for Pokémon, but I’m happy to report no signs of long winter naps. It worked so well that I was even able to wake up a little bit earlier and put some effort into my appearance. I especially liked the way my makeup came out.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Not sure what’s going on for this weekend, either I’m traveling up to Dear Daniel’s for the first time in a month, and we’ll go to some new Caribbean restaurant that open up by him; or he’ll be coming down here and we’ll go to see the One Man Star Wars show, could be fun. I have to admit though I’m really super excited about the ballet coming up, it’s the main thing I’m thinking about lately, especially what I am going to wear. I was just planning on wearing this purple pencil dress, but now of course I’m thinking I might want to go for something a bit fancier. I think a new dress will have to my February purchase wink wink. And it could be something I can wear for my birthday too, and we also have a wedding coming up in June, but I don’t know I might need something more summery for that. Oh blah blah why do I go on about these things lol. Or maybe I’ll just wear a dress that I already have. Sometimes I hate this clothing obsession I have, but its just so much damn fun to indulge in it.

Leave a Reply

