But I like you, because you’re true blue

So the other night I went out with some friends to this “Irish pub” called Shannon Rose. I use quotes because it’s a small chain, it’s a restaurant during the day and then turns into a club at night. It’s not a bad place to hang out and have a few drinks, but I guess as its growing in popularity it’s adding some “night club” elements which I don’t really think suit it well. Like a line to get in, and turning down any guys wearing work boots, hoodies, and baggy clothes. I had to make my boyfriend put his pants over his Napoleon Dynamite snow boots, so hopefully they would just look like ugly black shoes. I guess since there was a blizzard the night before, they didn’t care.

Anyway, to get to the point of my post, I was wearing a long-sleeved Tripp corset top that I got from Torrid along with a pair of skinny jeans and my own very unsexy snowboots. I was waiting on the obscenely longline for the ladies room when another girl complemented me on my top. I thanked her and she went on to explain how long she was looking for a nice corset and asked me where I got it. Well this girl was probably lucky if she could fit into a size 0, and I always feel so awkward whenever someone thin asks me where I get my clothes and it’s from a plus size store. Like I know it doesn’t matter, but those thoughts still rush through my head, like are they going to know? Will they say something mean? Its not like they can go there and buy it. Well I told them where I got it, and she looked vacant, her other skinny friend said she’s heard of it. Before she could say anything else I explained that it was a store for the “larger ladies” in a sarcastic voice to show I didn’t care or was embarrassed and then I said they have the same stuff as hot topic. She still looked a little confused like I like something from a fat girl store? But that could just be me imposing thoughts on her, and she just repeated herself about wanting a corset.

So is it just me or does anyone else out there feel a little weird when asked by a skinny person where they get they get an item from and its a plus only store. Are you embarrassed or do you hold your head up high and say HAHA I got some place you can’t fit into!


Anyway here is a very Torrid outfit that I wore today.

Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket
Sweater, pants, belt: Torrid
Headband: Harmons
Earrings: Forever 21
Watch: NY and Company
Shoes: Franco Sarto via DSW
Ring: Claire’s (I think)

I don’t know why all my purple stuff is coming up blue on camera but here’s a pic of the belt from the Torrid website.
Photobucket
I thought the navy and light purple looked cute together, not bruise like at all.

Leave a Reply

