In A Big Country

I’ve been feeling quite blue recently. It’s probably because this winter seems to be looming on forever, along with job woes, and just feelings of loneliness and laziness; its been difficult for me to look on the bright side of things lately. I need some more things to look forward to in life. 

There’s this song that I really, really love; its super 80s cheese but the lyrics are so uplifting and it makes me smile whenever I hear it.

The one lyric that I always hold onto in my head; “I’m not expecting go far as any desert, but I can look, and breathe, and see the sun in winter time.” Sadly the leader singer of the band, Stuart Adamson, killed himself about ten years ago. Sometimes I feel like all the artists I like have or probably will kill themselves; I can’t even escape this through campy 80s music. It’s quite a bit depressing, but at the same time it makes me hold on to it and love it even more. If their words or art or music can help just one person get through a tough day, or just touch them, or make them smile; then they are truly living on through their work. They have not been forgotten, their art has made them immortal.

Anyway here’s a fun, happy-times outfit post (sadly with no short shorts or mullet lol).

Cardigan: Beth Ditto for Evans UK size 20
Top: Dorothy Perkins UK size 20
Pants: Seven jeans via Ideeli size 18
Shoes: Really really old from Bakers
Necklace: Tarina Tanrantino
Bracelets: Miss Selfridge
Ring: I think from Kohls, also pretty old.

After I wore this outfit I decided it was time for me to find myself a new pair of pink shoes. Although these are super cute, they are definitely starting to show their age. Its amazing, no matter how many shoes I have, I can still always think of new ones that I need. The first step to recovery is admitting that you’re addicted, but that’s not going to happen anytime soon!

Also I really love this cardigan from the Beth Ditto collection, it’s so sweet and innocent looking and so easy to wear with anything. It can go casual and cute like this outfit, or I can fancy it up and wear it with a dress, or it could even go for a fun edgy rockabilly look with a band tee and jeans. There is one thing I wish I could change about it though, I wish it were reversible! Look how pretty the inside is…

I love the gold sparkles!

Leave a Reply

