New Year’s Resolutions

2011 was not a bad year for me it had tons of really awesome moments, I got to travel a lot and explore new places, states, and countries. I attended two weddings, and my best friend gave birth to seriously the cutest baby ever. My relationship with my boyfriend had its first very low points, but we were able to work through them together and soon we will be happily celebrating our three year anniversary. But there is still one thing that is holding me back from saying that this year was a great year for me, the lack of a job. I was laid off from my job in the summer of 2010 and for the rest of that year I was kind of in serious funemployment mode. But for 2011 I really tried to hunker down and not just look for work, but start my career. I applied to tons of places, went on a multitude of interviews, had quite a few genuinely hopeful moments, but was rejected and rejected time and again. It really has taken a huge toll on me and I’m starting to feel like its never going to happen for me.

In 2012 I promise to push those fears aside but also try to be more realistic. Although it is something that I don’t want to do, I am going to have to look for more jobs that are not in my “career” field and try to get something just to get by. This is something that I have been struggling with for awhile. Unfortunately, it’s a sign of the times, and I will still continuously apply for jobs I want, I will put more effort into finding a job I need.

Besides the job front, I am also resolving to try to be more socially active. This means not relying on facebook to keep in touch with people but picking up the phone. Taking the iniative to stay in contact with friends and plan times to see them. Maybe I will also try to take some classes or something in order to meet new people and make new friends.

I will also try to make my bed every morning, wash my makeup off every night, and work on blogging more regularly. I am so happy to see that my blog has started to take off this year. I have gained quite a few new readers (Hi everyone!) and I am also being contacted more reviews, which is always really awesome! I promise to blog at least twice a week and hopefully get an outfit post up every week.

I think that its for now. In the past years I have tried not set up too much expectations on New Year’s resolutions and instead tried to pick a new small, positive change for myself every month. I will probably do this too, but the things I’ve written about today I feel are things necessary for my life.

2012 is the year of the dragon, it should be a year of legend and power, and hopefully will be a year of great changes for the better.

Do you put much or any effort into planning and keeping New Year’s resolutions, if so what are some of yours? Are they big or small? Or do you decide to just let the New Year take its own course and go with the flow?

Leave a Reply

